top of page

Happy Anniversary, ATL.

Sheesh.

It's been what southerners would say, "a hot minute" since I've written. I've had all these thoughts in my head, things I want to dive into through writing, but have been lacking on the time or energy to actually just sit down and write it all out.

So, a few updates.

1. Scott finally cracked and let me get a dog. We rescued our Indiana from the humane society, and she is the most hilarious, energetic, sweet diva I have ever met. Biggest plot twist I didn't see coming, she likes Scott MORE THAN ME. Like seriously. I tell her daily, "he didn't even want you, the only reason you're here is because of me," and she still follows him around the house, sits for him, and all around just likes him better. I'm still a little salty about it if you couldn't tell.

2. I got a new job. I am still with Chick-fil-A, but am now working as an administrator for some of the sweetest people helping to manage their calendars, plan events, and do whatever else they may need. I am still laughing that I actually work in a corporate environment and wear heals daily, but I honestly wake up excited about work each day. It's such a blessing to say that and one that I don't take for granted.

3. Scott and I are 85% done with the process of buying a house. Yes, you read that right. And not only a house, but a house in ATLANTA. We be puttin' down roots people! #newontheblockroundtwo

We found an amazing 1920's bungalow with a huge front porch on the west side, and on June 16 are closing on our first ever home. I still don't feel like I'm over 17, but this is happening. Things we're most excited about? TWO bathrooms and a fenced in backyard for Indiana. Hallelujah, Praise the Lamb.

4. Scott and I have been married one year. Everyone tells you it goes fast, and every single one of them is exactly right. I'm forever grateful for May 27, 2016 and still have no idea why I'm the fortunate one to be Scott's counterpart.

4. I really like Atlanta.

Today marks one year exactly since Scott and I moved into our apartment in Midtown, and I realized, "holy crap, holy crap I just moved twelve hours away from home and can only make scrambled eggs and kraft mac n' cheese" (exact quote).

This year (read previous posts), has been one of the most transitional and difficult years I have had. Many insecurities and fears I thought I had buried came rushing to the surface as I tried to make new friends, find a new church, and create a new family with Scott. God, in his grace and love, of course provided for all these things. And it is because of Him and Him only that I was able to look at Scott and say "yes," let's stay in ATL. God has done (and is continuing to do) a work in me. He's expanding my heart and mind for more people, more dreaming, more risk, when last year I had foolishly thought, "I only want these friends, this dream and can only risk this much." I'm so glad the Lord wants more for me and you than we could ever possibly want for ourselves. Aren't you?

So, all that to say, happy anniversary ATL. You've been good to us.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page